It’s an overwhelming honor …

I have had the honor to be announced by MUF (the Swedish Young Conservatives) as the best blogger of the month because of my contribution on globalization, communication, and technological improvements. They even compare me with Johan Norberg, who is my personal house Guru and has always been a source of inspiration for me. I am not even nearly as talented as he is and he would probably take this as an insult *haha*. I wish I was though. But then again, he’s about 10 years older then I am , so-o, I guess I have some handicap, just to call it fair play. I help him once in awhile to hand him resourceful material that he can publish. If you haven’t checked out his blog, it’s definitely time well spent. He writes both in Swedish and in English (and increasingly in the latter, if I’m not mistaken) so all my non-Swedish speaking friends can enjoy his writings as well. Enjoy!

The Swedish Young Conservatives is the youth wing of the Swedish Moderate Party, which is the party which is in office right now in Sweden. I’ve been active within this organization since 2002, although I’m sad to admit that I haven’t been that much of a working member since the change of power in 2006 when we kicked out the Social Democratic Party. To make a long story short, I simply haven’t had the time needed that I would see as appropriate for a more sincere political commitment to the party. If you are a busy globetrotter like me it is hard to be active, especially in municipality work where you basically have to be there to contribute with anything sensible. As a politician you have to know your constituency, and it changes so fast it’s just too hard to catch up. And secondly, to be fair, the Conservative Party in Sweden has changed. I understand the change and I acknowledge it, since I am no fool. It was probably necessary in a country like Sweden to do the reformation that was carried out in order to win Election 2006. But to me it feels that the party has made too rough of a left-wing turn. It was maybe a necessary change, but since I have no incentive nor plan for the future to be a full-time politician I enjoy my time nowadays as a free-thinker. I would like to write books and articles related to politics and political science, without feeling the Sword of Damocles over my head all the time. The party-whip lashes hard these days. Only the Gods know what will happen to me, I guess. I feel actually satisfied with that …

Thank you for contributing and writing on my blog + all of you others who just read it and choose not to write any comment! I’m so happy I could burst!

[Svenska]

Möjligen en ny Johan Norberg. Teglund skriver rakt igenom högkvalitativa och intellektuella inlägg som inte upphör att imponera. Inlägget visar varför globalisering och spridandet av teknik för människor över hela världen samman och möjliggör skapande av fred och frihet

[English]

Possibly a new Johan Norberg. Teglund airs highly qualitative and intellectual contributions which never cease to impress the reader. The add depicts why globalization and the distrubution of new technology are connecting people all over the globe and also facilitates peace and liberty.

http://www.muf.se/artikel/643/nyhet/manadens-blogghjaltar

Lastly, I want to send out my dearest greetings to Edvin Alam, Simon Sundén, Jacob Lundberg and Jonas Grafström. Thank you guys, you definitely enlightened my otherwise so gloomy Monday- evening here in Oslo.

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s an overwhelming honor …

  1. edvinalam says:

    You are welcome! : )

  2. tegis says:

    Du kan prata svenska här om du vill 🙂 vi har haft konversationer på både svenska, isländska, spanska och engelska på den här sidan :).

    MvH
    Calle

Leave a Reply

