Can homeschooling combat the State monopoly?

I must say that I find the debate regarding homeschooling intriguing. I want to end State monopoly in virtually all sectors, and homeschooling is a fine example of how diverse a free education sector actually could be. Formal classical schools would probably also exist, and it is definitely nothing wrong with them, but in a freer society they would be competed with. It would also increase the freedom of choice and the availability. I’m also sure of that the availability of high-quality private-sector and non-formal education generate side benefits, which we know little of today. This has been proven in all other sectors this has occured in, so why not in the education sector? Ban on private entry into the education sector has no more justification than into heavy industry.

Again, there is actually little I have to say against the arguments of Beyondbluestockings, more than I’m totally against corporal punishment and that it also should be illegal on federal level (but this has not really anything to do about the subject as a whole).
I think, however, that dead beat kids are way better off in a formal school setting rather than with dead beat parents – much due to the fact that there is probably much more professional assistance to get in a formal setting (diagnoze, school counselor, etc.).

In all, it sounds like a lot of work behind it and I don’t think it is something you as a parent just consider over a fortnight. I think there are some families that would actually be better off if homeschooling was allowed, and most of them I reckon would be those who were extremely motivated delivering a qualitative piece of education for their children.

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can homeschooling combat the State monopoly?

  1. I think you have, in one of your previous posts, nailed the issue of why the state is reluctant to relinquish it’s monopoly on education – agenda. It is not a new idea to produce “model citizens” through education: I believe we can thank the Greeks for that.

    “I’m totally against corporal punishment and that it also should be illegal on federal level (but this has not really anything to do about the subject as a whole).”

    Ah, Carl, I thought for just a moment you were going to offer me a red herring 😉

    I agree with you in theory about the dead beat’s kids being better off in school, though it would be hard work offering educational freedom to all…..except the third generation jobless, roll-your-own smoking, bourbon drinkin’ gent on the sagging verandah with the car bodies in the front yard. I think nothing short of getting good religion will help his children.

    You are quite right that to homeschool is not a decision one makes lightly. It is needful to count the cost not merely financially, but to take into consideration the opposition to be faced from family and friends, and the time commitment involved. However, I can vouch that the rewards are precious!

    Thanks for posting your thoughts.

  2. tegis says:

    Yea, in all I agree with you and it has been really rewarding for me to have a discussion on this issue with such a knowledgeable and well-informed person as you. I study as I might have already mentioned a field that is called Comparative and International Education. I will end up like some sort of education developer/organizer/researcher :). I will not forget this and I will continue to develop these thoughts and hopefully – one day – be able to come into a position where I can use them to influence policy making ;). We’ll see what happens.
    Thank you again.
    Sincerely yours
    //Carl

Leave a Reply

