My studies

I finished my BA in English and my MA in economic history (although I have 2 things to take care of still in order to hand out the last one) last term. Now, I’m in Norway (as earlier mentioned) to study for another Master; an MA in Educational Development. The program goes under the name Master of Philosophy in International and Comparative Education. It is meant that I shall end up like a some sort of education-system researcher/developer.

I have only been here for 3 weeks now but it stands clear to me that most of my fellow students – as well as my teachers – are quite left-wing. We had a guest-lecturer from Harvard who praised Barack Obama and all books we read seem to be written by the UN or people who are associated with the UN. I have a quite different view.

This is important. I think we can change a great deal within the society if we start of with our schools and the funding and the policies that hold this spider web together.

All throughout history, voluntarily education systems have consistently shown better results than coercive systems. Four factors stand account for this: choice and financial responsibility for parents, and freedom and market incentives for educators. Whatever the State takes over, it invariably controls and manipulates for its own interest. My belief is that education policies which include government ownership and subsidy work and subsist per se only for the interest of the State; not for the individual.

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

