Surts’ caves and Hraun’s falls

I beg you all pardon for low productivity on my page lately but the reason for that is that I’ve been out on the countryside in Iceland exploring the beautiful nature here. Iceland is extremely impressive with its splendid nature with lava landscapes, volcanoes, and glaciers. This weekend we drove on for a look at the historic Surtshellir (above), a lava cave once inhabited by outlaws.

Next stop was Hraunfossar (below) which cascade into the river from beneath a tree-covered lava field. Then we continued to see the historical site of Reykholt, the place where it is believed (!) that Snorri Sturlason (the historian and poet) once lived.

It was truly an exciting trip. I wish I had more time to go out traveling in the Icelandic wilderness and experience more of this divine freedom that nature has present this world with. I guess when you live here you take it too much for granted. It’s all studies and work for most Icelanders here (and for me). But the nature here is an incredible source of inspiration and it is when I’m on the countryside I just feel that irresistibly drawn to write and create. I guess you understand why when you see these images …

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

