Differences between Egypt and a free state

Ismail (from Egypt):

hi , i don’t like what u make , what is that group and why? we must respect each other and i am Egyptian from the 1st civel contry in this world , why we don’t respect each other ? why u support some body whom be rude and hate people just for thier riligan ? is that the freedom? hope to find good replay and without bad words or any bad things , and hope u see and read about islam and mohamed (pbuh) b4 making all of that and hope u to understand us better 😦

—-

Myself:

Hi Ismail. I’m so glad you wrote to me. I’m sorry you feel hurt. I think we all feel hurt and insulted sometimes. I got badly hurt when someone (a Muslim) told me I should go to hell because of my believes. However, does that mean that I would refuse him the religious right to believe in what he is believing (that people who do not like Islam or do not believe in Allah should go to hell)? Of course not. Neither do I support these people who are doing these things to you, if that is hurtful to you, but I support their right to be able to be less intelligent people than you and I. Do you see the difference? According to democracy and to one of its basic foundations, freedom of speech, people do have the right to be a little bit on the daft side, so to say. An open, just, and democratic society isn’t only for those who are “right”, Ismail. It is also for the people who have less attractive opinions. It might sound silly to you, but think about it. Where would we end up if we would infringe or limit their freedom of speech or their right to democracy? Why, we may say that it is for the good for the people, and justify it by that, but where do we know where it could end? If we ban one opinion one day there’s nothing that says that we can ban another the day after that. Do I get through to you?

Let’s take your country, as an example Ismail. I love Egypt, I’ve always wanted to go there and I have a huge interest for your long civilization and glorious history. But something is rotten with the state of Egypt today. Do you know who Kareem is, Ismail? Well, I can tell you. He is one of your compatriots. He is a young man like you and I. Fact is, he is much like myself, because we believe(d) in the same values. Freedom for everyone and an open and brave society. He’s now suffering in the dungeons in Egypt, Ismail. Why? For his believes. For stating his opinions on the internet, just like you and I do right now. I don’t want to end up in jail, Ismail. I don’t want to live in a society like yours. I don’t want anyone to live in a theocratic/fascistic ferocious and grim society like that.
I don’t want to ban your religion, but I don’t want you to ban my freedom either. I give you the right, as I give Christians their right, to their faith – but only under the circumstances that they keep it as a private business and do not force it down the throat of others. I want us all to live in peace, and we can only live in peace as long as we understand the basics of freedom, freedom for ourselves and freedom for our neighbors.
Democracy doesn’t give you food on the table. It can even worsen your situation, as we see in Iraq. It is getting better day by day, but people are still struggling, before they had food and safety, but they lived under the oppression of an evil dictator. Democracy isn’t for those who do not dare to have their opinions criticized. It is needed a country of the free and it is for the home of the brave. We have to be brave, to get our values and opinions contradicted.
I believe that mankind is brave. That we can live free by ourselves if we are let to be free.
What do you believe?

I hope I have made you to understand us better.

And brother,

Salam Aleykum!
//Carl-Mikael A. Teglund

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia, The Middle East. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Differences between Egypt and a free state

  1. Roland Dodds says:

    “I got badly hurt when someone (a Muslim) told me I should go to hell because of my believes.”

    I often get a big smile when anyone of any stripe tells me this. It is the last vestige of a fool with no argument.

    “Democracy isn’t for those who do not dare to have their opinions criticized. It is needed a country of the free and it is for the home of the brave. We have to be brave, to get our values and opinions contradicted.”

    Here Here comrade!

  2. tegis says:

    hehe 🙂 Thanks man!

Leave a Reply

