Support the freedom for the unfree!

 

It has come to my knowledge that a lot of left-wingers are in favor of decreasing and restricting freedom of speech. Do you know what a dangerous path you’ve chosen? It is now more necessary than ever to stand up for democratic values and freedom for everyone.
Support the freedom for the unfree! What do You think the people down in Lebanon who are fighting for democracy are thinking when you are acting like this? What do you think the students in Iran think, they who are fighting on the streets against the Islamic fascist rule?

Frank Zappa: “Protecting people by limiting freedom of speech is like curing headaches with decapitations.”

It is for them we have to stand strong. It is for them we have to fight for this world’s democratic values. For everyone deserves it, not just lazy Swedes or Danes. I believe that people in Palestine also deserve to live in a democracy, I believe that the people in Sudan deserve to be free from the theocratic Arab oppression.

Late this night I was debating against a person who came from Israel who didn’t understand the meaning of democracy, who thought that it was strange how I could stand up for “wrong” people’s right to say and think what they like. I believe that this ought to be a warning signal for us. That we have to stand up and fight for our democracy and freedom. For democracy isn’t only for the political correct ones. I hate racists probably more than anyone here, but as Voltaire said I would defend their right to say their opinion with my life.
If we limit our democracy a little bit, then we don’t know where it will stop, and suddenly we are living in a fascist state like Iran or Egypt, were bloggers being thrown into prison, women get stoned, and dissidents get killed.

freekareem2.jpg

I will never tolerate the intolerant, but I will fight for their human right to build their mosques in my country, or in my brothers’ countries, but I will never let the intolerant change and modify our common society and the values of freedom millions of people have died for and still are dying for in oppressed countries.

We must never surrender!

//Carl-Mikael A. Teglund

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia, The Middle East. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

