Cui peccare licet peccat minus

I’m very much interested in dead languages. Icelandic and/or Old Norse (they’re almost always intelligible to each other) are good examples, Latin is another. I do not speak Latin, but as the reader of this blog has presumably noticed, this blog has a Latin name and I enjoy to collect Latin sayings and quotes. Mostly because they sound good in Latin but also because a lot of them are really witty.

I found a real goldmine when I was searching the net the other day. Yuni.com has an awesome collection of Latin phrases, quotes and sayings.

I found a really good one that corresponded quite well with my skepticism towards laws and restrictions.

Cui peccare licet peccat minus – One who is allowed to sin, sins less.

The  originator of this quote is Publius Ovidius Naso, a Roman poet known to the English-speaking world as Ovid who wrote on many topics, including love, abandoned women and mythological transformations. He died around 17 AD.

This quote will be one of my favorites from now on … I think Ovid got it precise right this time!

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Europe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cui peccare licet peccat minus

  1. Keith says:

    I love this quote so much, i got it on my forearm. Its such a good quote and you can take it in so many ways. I’m looking for more things to get as a tattoo. Hopefully by this guy. I like his style

  2. Pasquale G. Tato says:

    Excuse me, but Icelandic is very much a living language, in Iceland that is. 🙂

  3. Barbro says:

    I learn Latin Language at Lund university For the sake of poetry.

Leave a Reply

