British Ale – it seriously tastes like dishwater …

OK, I am “home”. Or I’m at least in Sweden (I don’t know whether I should call this my home or not, but I’ll go for that for now). I’ve been a month in England, but now I’ve returned back to Uppsala. For more than only one reason, this is a good thing. Not that I missed Sweden a lot, but my home country has its advantages. And I missed Swedish food soo much. And seriously, British Ale, common!, it tastes like dishwater … and it is, for some reason, one of the first thing they brag about on that island. Well, OK, English tea with home-made scones with strawberry-marmalade and cream IS awesome to the max, but that’s it! And about the beer, well, it is a good thing they’re crazy about beer from the continent in this country!

They like foreign beer so much that it has been reported that the sale of British Ale has dropped 22% since 1979, with sales now at their lowest level since the 1930s. One problem for England has been the ease at which Brits can buy cheap beer in Europe and then take it home through the channel tunnel.

Thank God for freedom of trade! =)

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Europe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

