Uppsala University – simply the best!

na-na! My Uni is better than yours!!

God! I’m really sorry for taken such a long vacation… but anyways, I’m in England right now teaching immigrants English (Pakis and people from Brazil, and eastern parts of Europe basically). I’m here through my University (which is one of the best in the world). ūüôā

How do I know that? Well, recently, a new British survey was carried out in order to list the best centers of Higher Education that is in the world – measuring God knows what! Well, anyway, Uppsala and Lund Universities are among the best academic institutions in the world, according to this survey. According to same survey, Uppsala was the best top-ranked Swedish institution. And quod erat demonstrandum, Uppsala is the one of the best Universities in the world. =) (Did I mention I am enrolled there?)

For more than 500 years, Uppsala University has been a distinguished seat of learning with rich opportunities for students and researchers at all levels.

Two other Swedish universities made it into the top 200. Stockholm’s Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) was in 192nd place (down from 172nd). Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg was 197th, down from 147th.

Not surprisingly, the list was led by universities in the English-speaking world, with Harvard top, followed by Cambridge (which I visited just yesterday), Oxford and Yale.

Critics of the survey complain that it is biased towards Anglo-Saxon institutions. They argue that the strong element of peer review in the survey is weighted in favor of peers from English-speaking or Commonwealth countries such as the UK, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and Malaysia.

Again, sorry for the long period of nothing but smoke and mirrors here at my Blog, I promise I’ll contribute more often in the future! I will also, in a not-so-distant future probably air a new homepage about my academical achivements and plans.

Cheers from England ūüėČ

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

