Ásatrú

Everyone seeks their savior, temple or path to follow. Even I. I have find it very hard actually to find the right thing for me, even nowadays. I don’t think I’ll ever find it because I am too inquisitive and skeptic about things. I like Nordic spiritualism though – a lot because it doesn’t ties me up to any stupid rules that I have to obey and it is a very free religion and very individual, but also because it connects me a lot to my ancestors and my history.

Ásatrú (also known variously as Heathenry, Forn Sed, Fyrnsidu, Theodism, Odinism, Heithni, Germanic paganism, Vanatrú, etc.) is a modern revitalization of the indigenous beliefs of Northern European Peoples. Like all true religions Ásatrú can be viewed as an entire and ‘holistic’ system of ‘being’. As such it is the thread which runs through and links all aspects of being together, for as is taught in Ásatrú (and many other religions) everything that is, is inter-connected. Ásatrú is a living religion, a combination of cultural, material, ethical and spiritual realities.

My ideals are mostly spiritual, but in an individualistic way. While spirituality (the way of having something to believe in) is kinda important in my life, organized religion itself is not an option for me. It is best for me to seek these things on my own terms. Therefore I love Ásatrú. You don’t have to take it so seriously and you don’t have to change your way of life to satisfy the pattern of the religion. You can just be you. 🙂
Thus: yey!!, go Nordic mythology! Soon comes the midwinter sacrifice, then I will go out hanging up dead herrings in a tree, wander backwards around a big rock and loose my presence of mind due to heavy beer/mead drinking! That’s what I call a religion! True hedonistic epicurism!

Hail the New Awakening, May Oðin’s Light Illuminate You. May Þor’s Hammer Defeat Your Enemies and May Freya make Your Sex Life Joyful!

Oh, I should also mention a good page called “Heathens Against Hate“. It is created due to that Nazis claiming ownership rights on Old Norse signs and signums. That is not acceptable and the practice the Old Northern traditions and other forms of ancient Paganism – the ancestral religions of much of Europe and the world – has nothing to do with race hatred.

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

