Leaving Iceland …

Hi there! Now it is time for me to leave Iceland and go back home to reality. I have been away from home now for almost 9 months and of course it feels weird to go back home. My feelings are kinda mixed, it is both pros and cons; I will miss Iceland and everything with it (and of course I will miss my girlfriend Sara the most), but I’m also looking forward to go home to Sweden and meet my old friends and see my family again.

I guess I don’t know exactly what home for me is anymore – I just live in a student dormitory back home in Sweden and I haven’t really got used to the place, and over here I’ve just been moving around all the time. I don’t think I have a “home”. Even my parents appartment feels strange to be in because I didn’t live there for long before I moved out finding me my own place to live. Furthermore – it is not “my” home. I know how it feels to feel like you have something that you can call your home. I had that when I was a child. A big blue house at a nice and peaceful neighborhood. That feeling is not there anymore for any of the places I’ve been living in for the last couple of years (maybe it is mostly because I’ve been sharing my living space with other students (I HATE communal living!!!!)). Anyway, that is the situation right now … I don’t consider that as something bad though – I feel that the world is mine. Only fools are afraid of freedom!

I can go anywhere …

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

