Bindingsværkshuse

No, do not worry. I won’t write this in Danish (the Danish people reading this would probably mock me if I tried). I want just to make my first contribution about architecture on this blog. My sister is studying to be an architect and I wouldn’t wanna mess with her when it comes to knowledge about these things, but I have to devote this piece to a special type of houses that I really LOVE!

The half-timbered houses, a.k.a. (in the Nordic region) as bindingsværkshuse. I adore those ornated, half-timbered houses in Denmark that are best exemplified with the old “Bindingsværkshuse” in Ribe, also the oldest city in the Nordic region.

A “half-timbered” building has exposed wood framing. The spaces between the wooden timbers are filled with plaster, brick, or stone.

In Medieval times, many European houses were half-timbered. The structural timbers were exposed. In the United States, harsh winters made half-timbered construction impractical. The plaster and masonry filling between the timbers could not keep out cold drafts. Builders began thus to cover exterior walls with wood or masonry. In the 19th and 20th centuries, it became fashionable to imitate Medieval building techniques and timbers were applied to wall surfaces as decoration.

If I ever grow up and if the Gods bless me with a job and a good pay check, I will definitely one day have a house like this!

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bindingsværkshuse

Leave a Reply

