Greenland – among polarbears, Eskimos, anthropologists, East-Germans and friendly Italians

I have to beg my readers for an apology. I haven’t been contributing with something new here on my blog for the last couple of days. The reason for this is that I have been buzy traveling around Greenland! It sure is amazing here and it is one of the most extreme places I have ever been to (and I have been to quite a lot places)!
Currently, I live in Kulusuk, a village with about 400 inhabitants on the east coast of the Greenlandish shore. We have been really lucky with the weather because it has been sunny everyday. I have been seeing Aurora Borealis, big glaciers, amazing nature and huge ice floes.
You really see Mother Nature in her true spirit out here, both the danger she possess and her frailty and delicacy. We have to take care of our world – for real! The climate changes are not a joke – out here we can see the results much more prominent than we can if we live in Sweden or in the U.S. We just have to find a solution that is BOTH sustainable for our nature and our common world but also for our common economy. I do not want to slow down the economical achievements in Africa and Asia and I do not wish to hinder the development all around the world. It will be hard and it won’t be easy, but if we fight together and not fall into being either fundamental environmentalists or hard hearted ignorants then we can achieve a lot. What we need is perspectives – and they are indeed accessible here in Greenland. They really need to have a bigger growth and we need to boost up their economy for the sake of this people, but we also need to take care of our planet!
It is a hard nut!

The only bad thing with this trip is that I had to spend it with some people that I’ve really learned to hate – anthropologists! I will write more about them later but I can tell you all – they are not to play with! You cannot even say the word “Eskimo” and they start to burst out in tears. And what is worst with this phenomenon from the rich white world, is that they can criticize a lot about if you are joking about other people who are not “white-male-middle aged-rich” then they will probably eat you alive or start to cry, but they can, themselves, talk degrading about this exclusive group they belong to themselves (but that they soo don’t want to take part of) = the “white-male-middle aged-rich”.
I think I’ve learned a lesson though. I will never discuss politics again with people without asking if they are easily offended or not.
Ow, one thing more. I have found out that Americans are very false. They are backstabbers who smile and are easy to talk to but afterwards they can talk shit behind your back and still smile and be friendly towards you when they see you again. It is also very funny that how they consider generosity. They can offer you a thing but they don’t really want you to take it, they just mean to be polite. I consider that as hypocrisy and to live in falseness.

In Sweden we stick to our own stuff and we do not give just to improve our own status!

I also found out that it is always fun to generalize (joke)! ūüėČ

Have a nice day! I will be back with more stuff from this ice-cold wasteland soon!

Hang on!

About tegis

This blog belongs to Carl-Mikael A. Teglund - tegis. Swedish emigrant with a heart for languages, philosophy, history, and politics (classical liberalism in the European tradition). Go ahead and look, read, or listen. I'm sure you will find it interesting.
This entry was posted in Scandinavia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Greenland – among polarbears, Eskimos, anthropologists, East-Germans and friendly Italians

  1. Lisa says:

    Nu kommer den utlovade kommentaren Tegis! Vi saknade dig p√• st√§mman i helgen. Den var ovanligt lugn ūüėČ Dags att komma p√• bes√∂k!

Leave a Reply

